Nominations Are Now Open For 2015 Roger Award

The Roger Award For The Worst Transnational Corporation Operating In Aotearoa/New Zealand in 2015

Here is the link to the 2015 Roger Award online nomination form

You can also download the hard copy nomination form from there.


The criteria for judging are by assessing the transnational (a corporation which is 25% or more foreign-owned*) that has the most negative impact in each or all of the following categories:

People – Unemployment, impact on tangata whenua, impact on women, impact on children, abuse of workers/conditions, health and safety of workers and the public

Environment – Environmental damage, abuse of animals

Political interference – Interference in democratic processes, running an ideological crusade

Economic Dominance – Monopoly, profiteering, tax dodging, cultural imperialism

The period covered is from November 1st 2014 until October 31st 2015


The judges for 2015 are: David Small, a lawyer and Senior Lecturer in Education at the University of Canterbury; Dean Parker, Auckland writer and former Writers’ Guild delegate to the Council of Trade Unions; Dennis Maga, union activist from the May First Movement Philippines, organiser of FIRST Union and founder of Migrante and UNEMIG; Sue Bradford, community activist with Auckland Action Against Poverty and the Left think tank project; former Green MP; and Deborah Russell, feminist, social and political commentator and tax expert, Tertiary Education Union member, and candidate for the Labour Party in 2014.They will be given a shortlist of finalists.

The winner(s) will be announced at a Palmerston North event on April 30, 2016.


You can nominate the same transnational as last year as long as the nomination is about their misdeeds in 2015. Please send as much detail as you can, includingnewspaperclippings and reports, but you do not have to do all the research. Just quote sources if you can.

Accomplice Award:

You may also nominate an organisation (not an individual) which has been the worst Accomplice in 2015 in aiding and abetting transnational corporations in New Zealand to behave as described in the criteria. The Accomplice’s award is in addition to the Worst Transnational Corporation award and will not necessarily be awarded every year. You may nominate for either or both awards.

Nominations close on October 31, 2015. Send your nomination to:

The Roger Award, Box 2258, Christchurch 8140

Or by e-mail to


*Please note that Fonterra is not eligible.

Murray Horton

On behalf of the Roger Award organisers

CAFCA & GATT Watchdog


Campaign Against Foreign Control of Aotearoa

Box 2258, Christchurch 8140, New Zealand





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: